Prom 2012- Ideas for a Fabulously Unique Outfit

When I was a teenager a movie like Pretty in Pink by director John Hughes epitomized what to wear to a 1980s Prom.

Pretty in Pink andy’s designed dress

There were candy colored dresses with loads of ruffles and layered skirts. It was the bigger the better including how you styled your hair. The dresses were expensive by my standards. I made my prom dress. The fabric was a Raspberry satin moiré. It had ruffled straps and a big gathered skirt with a plain fitted bodice. It was quite “Pretty in Pink” but it was a nice dress.

That night in 1986 we listened to Madonna, George Michael, Boy George and Karma Kameleon, Michael Jackson, ect. I cannot remember if the night ended with the Classic Stairway to Heaven, which was played at every high school dance for the four years I attended. But it was probably something slow for a guy to grab a girl and get close for the last chance of the night.

Now that I am out of there and it’s been a long time, in reflection I think I would have gone for something more unique to wear. I always wore vintage clothing throughout my high school years, but chose to wear something I made because I was enrolled in fashion design school.

 How to dress up these dresses to get ready for Prom:

I like to mix colors, metals, in a very non-kitchy way. I think it makes the outfit original and personal. I used to be very conservative and everything had to co-ordinate but I changed my mind ( I am a woman and I am allowed to do that). I have given a few options on dresses I carry in my store. Any items that are not listed in my store are available by contacting me for a reserved listing. ( I do not carry any of the items on the right of the image, these are just suggestions…Thank you)

Sunny Choi Red Silk Skirt Sleeveless Dress

  • Sunny Choi Red Flirty Skirt Dress-Gold Necklace, Thin Gold Leather or chain belt, Fuchsia clutch, Nude stockings with Nude Platform heels or a Red Patent leather Shoes.

    Sunny Choi Black Blue Tank Dress

  • Sunny Choi Black Blue Tank Dress-Blue Stockings with Blue Platform shoes, Silver Clutch and silver jewelry, a beautiful abstract print silk wrap.
  • Wayne Clark Black Shift Dress

    -Silver will raise this dress to the stratosphere, A great pair of strapy high heels, A chunky necklace and studded earrings.

  • Vogue Gold Paisley Lame Shift

    -This dress is so much on it own that it will go well with more subdued accessories, a great sandal in cream tones, and a similar tones clutch. Keep the jewelry either simple or over the top but mediocre just won’t do!!!

  • Mary Korolnek Black Silver Lace Dress

    -This is a spectacular dress, it is old Hollywood glam, it needs to be dresses to the nines. In other words go big or go home. For example big bauble bling earrings, and huge silver heels.

Albert Nipon Silk Organza Plaid Dress

  • Albert Nipon Silk Organza Plaid Dress-This dress is very pretty and has bold color. A thin sparkling gold belt would lift the color of this dress. Fuchsia accessories such as earrings and clutch with dark shoes maybe in a Navy Blue.

( I do not carry any of the items on the right of the image, these are just suggestions…Thank you). Please visit Shuushuu by lulu on Etsy for more!!!!

Till Next Time!!!!

Leave a Reply

